My Sister’s Death and My Rebirth

Cindy Chu
8 min readNov 23, 2020

Sandy. Cindy. Cindy & Sandy. Sisters. Both born on a 13th, hers in December, mine in February. We used to giggle about opening our own store called Cindy & Sandy, it would be filled with her designs. We used to dream together. That dream came to an abrupt and nightmarish end on the evening of November 22nd, 2019. I was out for a girls night with two friends when my oldest brother called, I let it go to voicemail as we were at dinner and I didn’t want to be rude. When he called again, I excused myself to go outside, hoping it wasn’t bad news but knowing it probably was. It was worse than I could have imagined. My parents had gone to my brother’s and upon returning home found my sister collapsed, already blue, her heart ticking faintly. She’d complained of feeling ill for days and begged off going to my brother’s. My parents had called 911 and were headed to the hospital, hoping she could be revived. He would let me know when he heard more. I instantly crumpled inwards standing outside the restaurant, sobbing and gasping for air. My friends could see me through the large front windows and ran out to check on me. I was alternately in shock, numb, and like my heart was being shredded to fine ribbons. We got our things from inside and began walking, I didn’t pay attention where. They asked what I would like to do but I had no answers. They led me to a donut shop where they purchased donuts but my mouth felt full of…

--

--